Community service

Rotary Presents Club, Community Service Awards – Park Rapids Enterprise

Rotary of Park Rapids presented club and community service awards at the club’s annual awards and installation event, June 29 at the home of Teresa and Jeff Segers.

The David R. Konshok Professional Leadership Award was presented to Molly Luther for her service to the Explore Minnesota Tourism Board. The award recognizes those who go beyond the local community to provide professional leadership in their chosen field. Owner of Molly Poppin’s Gourmet Snacks, Luther was appointed by the governor to serve as the retail sales representative to the tourism board.

Eric Haugland received the HN Bishop Award. Since 1975, the award recognizes an individual who has donated their personal time and talents to clubs, organizations and events in the Park Rapids area. Haugland’s voluntary activities included 13 councils, committees and other organizations. Her father, the late John Haugland, received the HN Bishop Award in 1989.

Rhonda Lageson received the Hewitt Family Youth Service Award for starting Helping Hands, an extension of the Century School PTA that provides children with clothing, shoes, snow pants, boots, winter coats, blankets and other items, and provides snacks and milk to Century Elementary Students. In addition to the award, for a sixth year, the Hewitt Family Charitable Trust will donate $2,000 to the child-focused charity of the recipient’s choice.

Sue Tomte has been named Rotarian of the Year for the second time, in recognition of her continued commitment to Rotary. The award is given to a member who has demonstrated outstanding leadership, initiative and accomplishments for the club over the past year, including attendance, committee work, community support foundation, sponsorship of new members, etc.

President Esther Simon inducted Brandon Lawrence as a new member of the club. Lawrence is a pension advisor for Strategic Retirement Partners and works from his home in Nevis.

Club members recognized for service milestones include Zachary Johnson and Stuart Larson, five, and Ben Koppelman, 15. Honorary Member David R. Konshok was unable to attend, but was recognized for his 50 years of service as a member.

Contributors to the Rotary International Foundation who received Paul Harris Plus One pins were Koppelman and Paul Utke. Donors were honored for their contributions to the foundation’s mission of enabling Rotarians to advance understanding, goodwill, and world peace by improving health, supporting education, and alleviating poverty .

Finally, Simon installed Krystal Murphy as president for the 2022-23 club year.

For more information about Rotary membership, call Patrick Sullivan at 218-732-0360.